The Hotel Just Paid for Itself

Last night Papa and I got back to our hotel around 11:00 pm, which is a very late night out for him nowadays. He said that since we hadn’t been out in the heat much that day, he was going to skip a shower in favor of going right to bed. “You know if you skip that shower you’re missing out on the rain showerhead,” I reminded him. The walk-in shower with the rain showerhead in addition to the regular hand-held showerhead was one of the reasons I’d chosen this particular hotel.

Papa went to brush his teeth and a few minutes later he pokes his head out of the bathroom and says, “I’m gonna take a shower.”

Can I call it, or can I call it?

I’m typing away at my computer and hear the water turn on. A minute later, the sound of the water changes and I hear a distinctly startled yelp. Not a sound of distress — a yip of surprise that I’ve never heard before from my dad.

And because I’m Filipina, instead of confirming that he doesn’t need help, I just laugh.

When he comes out of the bathroom after his shower, my first words to him are, “You were standing right underneath the rain showerhead when you switched the water over, weren’t you?”

Papa laughed at himself so hard. That showerhead is a good 9″ across and the water pressure here is like Western water pressure, so it hits you like a waterfall. Bit of a surprise when you’re not expecting it.

Our combined laughter was enough to make the cost of this particular hotel worth every penny. 🙂

Currently listening to: “Counting Stars” by OneRepublic
Currently reading: And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini

Leave a Reply

