Pajama Problems

100B0441aIn the Philippines, people start setting off New Year’s fireworks a couple of days before December 31 and don’t stop until January 3 or 4. In case you have any doubts about the sheer quantity of pyrotechnics that are exploded during this time, tonight when I put on my freshly laundered pajamas, I noticed that they didn’t smell fresh and clean. After a moment of extreme puzzlement, I realized that my PJs smelled . . . smokey. Then I started laughing because I realized it was the smokiness that fills the air after a whole bunch fireworks are set off in the neighborhood. At my dad’s house (and probably the vast majority of Filipino homes in PI), clothes are all line dried and these pajamas had been hung out to dry on New Year’s Eve.

Currently listening to: “Give Me a Reason” by P!nk
Currently reading: And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini

Leave a Reply

